The Mura River in the world’s first 5-nation biosphere reserve

At its meeting in Abuja, Nigeria, the International Coordinating Council of the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Program (UNESCO MAB-ICC) declared the Mura, Drava and Danube (TBR MDD) areas the first 5-nation biosphere reserve in the world. This area, which stretches from Austria, through Slovenia, Croatia and Hungary to Serbia and covers 930,000 hectares along 700 kilometers of the Mura, Drava and Danube rivers, has officially become the largest river biosphere reserve in Europe.